News & EventsWhats happening

Seminar for evolving a development plan for Vattiyoorkavu constituency

A development seminar have been organized on 19th December for evolving a development plan for Vattiyoorkavu constituency. Experts, elected representatives, officials, representatives of residents welfare association participated in a day long workshop to discuss the development issues and challenges of the locality. Suggestions and recommendations were compiled from thematic break out group discussions.


Campaign against single use plastics

Single Use Plastics or SUPs are a threat to our environment since they contaminate the soil, water, air and disrupts the ecosystems which support our economic systems. Across the world communities are campaigning to regulate SUPs. Thiruvananthapuram City was the first to introduce green protocol to phase out single use plastics. Government of Kerala banned SUPs from 1st January 2020. A campaign was organised in Vattiyoorkavu to create awareness among people to get support in favour of ban on SUPs. The campaign consisted street level meetings, door to door campaigns, show casing alternative solutions, rallies involving youth and students etc. The campaign helped to build support for ban on SUPs.


MLA's office inauguration

The office of the Vattiyoorkavu MLA was inaugurated by Hon’ble Minister for Finance and Coir, Dr. T.M. Thomas Isaac on 15th November at Sasthamangalam Health Circle office of Thiruvananthapuram Corporation.


Inauguration of Road Safety Week celebrations and awareness campaign

Inaugurated the Road Safety Week celebrations and awareness campaign organized by NATPAC on 17th January 2020 at Sahithya Panchanan Library – Vattiyoorkavu. Mr. Palayam Rajan, Chairman – Standing Committee on Town Planning at Thiruvananthapuram Municipal Corporation chaired the session. The councillors of Thiruvananthapuram Municipal Council, Mr. S. Harishankar and Ms. P. Rajimol participated in the session. Mr. K. Jayamohankumar (CITU) Mr. K. Sudhakaran Nair (INTUC), Mr. Pattom Sasidharan (AITUC), Mr. C. Jyothishkumar (BMS) were also present in the event. Vote of thanks was performed by Mr. S. Shahim, Principal scientist of NATPAC .

Connect with us